Friday, May 30, 2014

The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow


A quilt with a history.  A quilt containing royal cloth.  A quilt spanning a number of years.  A quilt that told a story.

This mysterious ​quilt, a seamstress, stolen patches of material, royalty, ​and Caroline tell the tale of the beautiful, lovingly handmade quilt that connects Maria the seamstress​ to Caroline the present day character​ through flashbacks and recorded tapes. You will LOVE the connection.  ​

Maria's story began in an orphanage where she learned the skills of a seamstress ​and ​then moves to her being a seamstress in Buckingham Palace along with her friend, Nora.  Both girls did impeccable stitching for the royal family.

In her spare time at the castle, ​Maria made a​ quilt from royal cloth and told the story of her life in every patch and stitch​. Her quilt was handed down through the generations ​with mysteries and a story of its own.

Maria's life was changed for the worst, though, after the Prince summoned her to do some mending for him.  This beautifully told ​story continued ​from that point and back to the present.

If you enjoy reading family history and the history of family heirlooms created by a past generation and found by the present generation, you will definitely enjoy THE FORGOTTEN SEAMSTRESS.

The writing is flawless, the characters are lovable and unforgettable, the storyline will definitely hold your interest until the last page.  And...the last few pages will have you glued to each word.​ 5/5

This book was given to me free of charge by the publisher in return for an honest review.


Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Empire Girls by Suzanne Hayes & Loretta Nyhan

New York New York...

Ivy and Rose Adams traveled to New York City after their father passed away and left them penniless.  They also had another mission which was to find a brother they never even knew existed and a brother that their father left everything to.

Ivy was excited to go to New York, but Rose was apprehensive because she was one who preferred staying home and taking care of domestic affairs, but was it fate that they went?

EMPIRE GIRLS is a fun, easy, entertaining read.  Ms. Hayes and Ms. Nyhan vividly depicted 1920's New York with its speakeasies, its glitz, and its glamour. The writing is descriptive, the storyline will hold your interest, and the characters are very likable.​

You will love both Ivy and Rose and perhaps see a little bit of yourself in either or both of them.  You will share their feelings and adventures and join them in their fun, their explorations, and their despair. EMPIRE GIRLS seemed to be a lesson about life and family.

​EMPI​RE GIRLS will steal your heart and have you missing the characters after you turn the last page.  The ending is heartwarming as well as a surprise.

Don’t miss reading EMPIRE GIRLS for a glimpse into life in the 1920’s and a reminder of the importance of friendship and family.  5/5

I received this book free of charge and without compensation from the publisher in return for an honest review.
Here is how you will feel after reading the book.

Or at least I hope you do.  :)
                                                                        
Photo taken from:  fythehills.tumblr.com


Monday, May 26, 2014

BEA 2014

On my way to New York until June 1 for a visit with my son and for the BEA.  :)


Have a great week wherever you may be.  I love this video.

 

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Giveaway of THIRD RAIL by Rory Flynn


Giveaway of THIRD RAIL by Rory Flynn


A propulsive debut, first in an exciting new series, in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Robert Parker.

At crime scenes, Eddy Harkness is a human Ouija board, a brilliant young detective with a knack for finding the hidden something—cash, drugs, guns, bodies. But Eddy’s swift rise in an elite narcotics unit is derailed by the death of a Red Sox fan in the chaos of a World Series win, a death some believe he could have prevented. Scapegoated, Eddy is exiled to his hometown just outside Boston, where he empties parking meters and struggles to redeem his disgraced family name.

Then one night Harkness’s police-issue Glock disappears. Unable to report the theft, Harkness starts a secret search—just as a string of fatal accidents lead him to uncover a new, dangerous smart drug, Third Rail. With only a plastic gun to protect him, Harkness begins a high-stakes investigation that leads him into the darkest corners of the city, where politicians and criminals intertwine to deadly effect. With a textured sense of place, a nuanced protagonist, and a story that takes off from page one and culminates in a startling finale, Third Rail (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; June 10, 2014) has all the elements of a breakout mystery success.


**********************

           About RORY FLYNN

A powerful new voice in crime fiction.  A generally nice guy in Boston.

Rory Flynn is the pen name of acclaimed novelist Stona Fitch, author of five previous novels, including Senseless, now an independent feature film and a graphic novel.

In 2008, Stona founded the Concord Free Press, a independent publishing house that publishes and distributes original novels, asking only that readers make a voluntary donation to a charity or person in need, then pass their book on. The CFP has inspired generosity throughout the world—and created a new approach to publishing that has earned praise from publishing visionaries and readers.

Stona lives with his family in Concord, Massachusetts.
              Visit Rory Flynn’s Website: http://www.mrroryflynn.com/
**********************
USA Entries Only
Enter the contest here until June 5.

**********************
 

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Release Of A New Johnny Ray Novel


RESCUING HER HONOR
BY
Johnny Ray

Noella thought they had stopped the stalkers, and several corrupt governmental factions who wanted her to step down from being a judge. That is until the treats reappeared. Vance, her bodyguard turned fiancée also thought so. But then again, many secrets are still hidden deep inside a safety deposit box in Switzerland.

 

While going to receive Vance’s inheritance in Zurich could be a dream vacation for this now engaged couple, who only want to work out some serious conflicts in their wedding and careers, sinister politicians and crooked cops have other plans waiting for them in Europe.


Friday, May 9, 2014

Chateau of Secrets by Melanie Dobson

From France during WWII and back to the United States...the Duchant family will steal your heart.

CHATEAU OF SECRETS blends the charm of the old world and the fast-paced world of current day.  The reader will move from the Duchant family's Chateau d'Epines in France to the Duchant family’s descendants in Virginia.  The author's marvelous way with words and the research Ms. Dobson did is incredible.  Her descriptions of feelings and landscapes is amazing.

The family's chateau, the secrets the characters held for decades, the era in history, and the characters themselves will pull you right into the story.  You will follow the main character, Gisele, during the German occupation of Saint-Lo, France, and see through her eyes ​the horrors people had to endure as well as see the people who helped each other make it through WWII.
  ​
You will also be with Chloe as she visits the present-day Chateau in order to find her roots and to find out what the real story was that her grandmother and a friend were reluctant to reveal.

CHATEAU OF SECRETS had me reading non-stop for the entire day.  This time in history is my favorite, and the storyline was marvelous. CHATEAU OF SECRETS is going to be one of my favorite reads of 2014.

If you enjoy books set during WWII and flipping back and forth from the present to the past, you won't want to miss this marvelous book. 

CHATEAU OF SECRETS will have you turning the pages and staying up late in​to​ the night.  Ms. Dobson’s writing style and the book’s storyline are wonderful. 5/5

This book was given to me free of charge and without compensation by the publisher in return for an honest review. All opinions are my own.​


Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Everything To Lose by Andrew Gross


What would you do if you found a half million dollars, hid the money, laundered the money, and then found out that it was money that someone would kill for to get it back?

Hilary was being a good Samaritan when she stopped to help at the scene of an accident, but what she didn't know was that the accident victim had a satchel of money in the car that didn't belong to him and that definitely didn't belong to her.  The money would really help Hilary pay her bills, though, since she was spending her last dollar this month, but what she didn't know was that same money would get her involved with dangerous people.

EVERYTHING TO LOSE pulls you in and won't let you go.  You will feel the terror of every descriptive scene. The characters ​include lovable Brandon, no-conscience, evil Charlie, and believable Hilary because of her situation.

If you enjoy intrigue, edge-of-your-seat action, scary decisions, murder, long-time grudges, and terrifying characters you won't want to miss EVERYTHING TO LOSE.  It is a thriller at its best. 

This is the first Andrew Gross book I have read, and I wasn't disappointed.  EVERYTHING TO LOSE was full of suspense until the very last word.  5/5

This book was given to me free of charge and without compensation by the publisher in return for an honest review.

Thursday, May 1, 2014

The Fortune Hunter by Daisy Goodwin


Wealthy families, the right marriage, the proper husband, dancing balls, horse racing, fox hunting, ​proper seating at dinner parties, and proper everything is what you will find inside THE FORTUNE HUNTER.         

Charlotte is the heiress to the Lennox fortune, and her brother and new sister-in-law to be must make sure the proper suitor is selected for her.  Not just anyone can be the husband of the heir to the Lennox money.

Charlotte is a bit of a rebel, though, and wants to choose the man she loves not someone her family approves of because of his status, and love conquers all as you follow Charlotte and Bay through their ups and downs​.​

If you enjoy "proper" lifestyles with all of its formality, you will love THE FORTUNE HUNTER.  Ms. Goodwin will definitely impress the reader with her attention to detail in every sentence.  You will feel as though you are at the fox hunts and the dinner parties and vividly see the dresses and jewels of each of the ladies.  The characters were very well described and quite authentic.  


For me, THE FORTUNE HUNTER was a bit too detailed, though, and was repetitive, but if you enjoy reading about aristocratic activities, you won't be disappointed.

I am rating the book a 3/5.  For me THE FORTUNE HUNTER was a tedious read. 

This book was given to me free of charge by the publisher in return for an honest review.​